try another color:
try another fontsize: 60% 70% 80% 90%
Institute for Legal Questions on Free and Open Source Software

II. Open Source Licenses – General Information

What has to be noted in the case of license terms for own developments if distributed in combination with free software?

If Open Source software and proprietary own developments are contained in a product and own license terms shall be used for the proprietary developments, care must be taken to ensure that the own license terms are not in conflict with the Open Source license terms.
  » Weiter

Does the license text of an Open Source license have to be printed again in full within the framework of own license terms, if it has already been delivered to the customer as file, e.g. as part of the software package?

No, this is not necessary. The requirements of all relevant Open Source licenses are met if a copy of the license text is delivered to the customer together with the software. The own license terms for possible proprietary components do not have to contain the license texts again, but at the same time must not be in contradiction with them (see FAQ "What has to be noted in the case of license terms for own developments if distributed in combination with free software?")

Is it sufficient to specify a URL for the license text or does the complete license text have to be supplied to the customer? Is it otherwise useful to work with URLs in contracts?

Open Source licenses deal with the question if the license text has to be supplied with the product in paper form or as a file, or whether it is sufficient to specify a URL differently. Most licenses, like the GPL, require that the license text is supplied together with the product. The Landgericht München I (Regional Court Munich), has explicitly deemed this as necessary in a judgment (http://www.ifross.de/Fremdartikel/LGMuenchenUrteil.pdf).
  » Weiter

What is license compatibility?

If code components that were licensed under different license conditions are compiled to form a new work, a question arises: Is the common use of the code permissible under license law? If for example code A under license X is linked with code B under license Y to form a new program, licenses X and Y must permit this. If this is the case, license compatibility exists. 

License compatibility is particularly important for copyleft licenses (→ What types of licenses are there for open-source software, and how do they differ?) since licenses such as the GPL provide that derived works may only be used under the same license conditions (that is, those of the GPL). Hence copyleft licenses are only compatible with other open source licenses when one of the following conditions is met: » Weiter

How and when is a license agreement concluded?

The precise time of the conclusion of the license agreement is important since from this time on, the provisions of the open source license become effective with their associated rights and obligations. The license agreements are regularly added to the software in an independent file, generally termed "license" or "copying".  If the user receives the software including the license file, this does not constitute a license agreement.  According to German contractual law, two corresponding declarations of intent are required, the "offer" and "acceptance."  In addition, the contents of the agreement must be clearly identifiable for an agreement to be effectively concluded. 
  » Weiter

What are the most important open source licenses, and what type of license are they?

The GNU General Public License (GPL) is the most important and widespread open-source license.  Approximately 60% of all open-source software is under this license.  This includes well-known programs like Linux or Busybox. The GPL is the template for all licenses with a strict copyleft as well as version 2 (→ GNU General Public License, Version 2) and version 3 (→ The GNU General Public License, Version 3).

 

The GNU Lesser General Public License (LGPL) was earlier termed the "GNU Library General Public License" and was especially conceived for program libraries.  It has a restricted copyleft that enables the libraries to be linked with open-source software and proprietary software. » Weiter

What types of licenses are there for Open Source software, and how do they differ?

The rights of use granted in the countless Open Source licenses (http://www.ifross.eu/en/license-center) only differ slightly (→ How can I use open source software? What rights of use to I acquire?), but there can be substantial differences in the required terms of the license.  Although the licensee may not request any license fees, licensees are commonly subject to other requirements.
  » Weiter

Syndicate content

try another color:
try another fontsize: 60% 70% 80% 90%
Institut für Rechtsfragen der Freien und Open Source Software

II. Open Source-Lizenzen – allgemein

Genügt es eine URL für den Lizenztext anzugeben oder muss der vollständige Lizenztext an den Kunden übergeben werden? Ist es ansonsten sinnvoll, in Verträgen mit URLs zu arbeiten?

Open Source Lizenzen behandeln die Frage unterschiedlich, ob der Lizenztext in Papierform bzw. Datei mitgeliefert werden muss oder ob die Angabe einer URL ausreicht. Die meisten Lizenzen verlangen eine Mitlieferung des Lizenztextes, so etwa die GPL. Das Landgericht München I hat dies in einer Entscheidung ausdrücklich für erforderlich erachtet (http://www.ifross.de/Fremdartikel/LGMuenchenUrteil.pdf). » Weiter

Was ist bei den Lizenzbedingungen für Eigenentwicklungen zu beachten, wenn diese in Kombination mit Freier Software vertrieben wird?

Sofern in einem Produkt Open Source Software und proprietäre Eigenentwicklungen enthalten sind und für die proprietären Eigenentwicklungen eigene Lizenzbedingungen verwendet werden sollen, ist darauf zu achten, dass die eigenen Lizenzbedingungen nicht in Konflikt mit den Open Source Lizenzbedingungen treten.
  » Weiter

Muss der Lizenztext einer Open Source Lizenz im Rahmen der eigenen Lizenzbedingungen nochmals vollständig abgedruckt werden, wenn er bereits als Datei (z.B. als Teil des Softwarepakets) an den Kunden übergeben wurde?

Nein, dies ist nicht erforderlich. Sämtliche relevanten Open Source Lizenzen lassen es genügen, wenn eine Kopie des Lizenztextes zusammen mit der Software an den Erwerber übergeben wird. Die eigenen Lizenzbedingungen für etwaige proprietäre Bestandteile müssen die Lizenztexte nicht nochmals enthalten, aber dürfen diesen auch nicht widersprechen (siehe dazu die Frage "Was ist bei den Lizenzbedingungen für Eigenentwicklungen zu beachten, wenn diese in Kombination mit Freier Software vertrieben wird?").

Was ist Lizenzkompatibilität?

Wenn Codebestandteile, die unter verschiedenen Lizenzenbedingungen lizenziert werden, zu einem neuen Werk zusammengefügt werden, stellt sich die Frage, ob die gemeinsame Nutzung des Codes lizenzrechtlich zulässig ist. Wird etwa Code A unter der Lizenz X mit Code B unter der Lizenz Y zu einem neuen Programm verbunden, müssen die Lizenzen X und Y dies gestatten. Wenn dies der Fall ist, besteht Lizenzkompatibilität.
  » Weiter

Wie und zu welchem Zeitpunkt kommt es zum Abschluss eines Lizenzvertrages?

Wichtig ist der genaue Zeitpunkt für den Abschluss des Lizenzvertrages, da ab diesem Zeitpunkt die Bestimmungen der Open Source-Lizenz mit ihren Rechten und Pflichten wirksam werden. Die Lizenzverträge werden der Software regelmäßig in einer eigenen Datei beigefügt, zumeist „License“ oder „Copying“ genannt. Erhält ein Nutzer die Software samt Lizenzdatei, wird dadurch noch kein Lizenzvertrag geschlossen. Nach deutschem Vertragsrecht sind dafür zwei übereinstimmende Willenserklärungen erforderlich, die »Angebot« und »Annahme« genannt werden. Außerdem muss der Vertragsinhalt für einen wirksamen Vertragsschluss eindeutig bestimmbar sein. » Weiter

Welches sind die wichtigsten Open Source Lizenzen und welchem Lizenztyp gehören sie an?

Die GNU General Public License (GPL) ist die wichtigste und verbreitetste Open Source Lizenz. Etwa 60 % aller Open Source Software untersteht dieser Lizenz, darunter so bekannte Programme wie Linux oder Busybox. Die GPL ist das Vorbild für alle Lizenzen mit einem strengen Copyleft und in der Version 2 (→ Die GNU General Public License, Version 2) und Version 3 (→ Die GNU General Public License, Version 3) in Gebrauch.

Die GNU Lesser General Public License (LGPL) hieß früher "GNU Library General Public License" und ist speziell für Programmbibliotheken gedacht. Sie hat ein beschränktes Copyleft, dass die Verlinkung der Bibliotheken sowohl mit Open Source Software als auch mit proprietärer Software ermöglicht. » Weiter

Welche Lizenztypen gibt es bei Open Source Software und wie unterscheiden sie sich?

Die zahllosen Open Source Lizenzen (www.ifross.eu/lizenz-center) unterscheiden sich nur geringfügig hinsichtlich der gewährten Nutzungsrechte (→ Wie darf ich Open Source Software nutzen? Welche Nutzungsrechte erwerbe ich?), können aber erhebliche Unterschiede hinsichtlich der zu beachtenden Lizenzpflichten aufweisen. Denn zwar darf der Lizenznehmer keine Lizenzgebühren verlangen, jedoch sind sonstige Verpflichtungen für den Lizenznehmer durchaus üblich. Die markantesten Unterschiede bestehen hinsichtlich den Lizenzvorgaben für Weiterentwicklungen. » Weiter

Inhalt abgleichen